About Swiss Magnum photographer René BURRI (1933-2014)

René BURRI spent his early years studying composition, colour and design at the School for Arts and Crafts in Zurich. It was during his military service that he first used a Leica camera. Shortly after, he also developed an interest in film, and from 1953–55 he worked as a documentary filmmaker. His life changed forever when the well-known photographer Werner BISCHOF introduced him to the prestigious photography agency Magnum Photos. Shortly after joining MAGNUM, his first reportage appeared in Life magazine. He was not exclusively concerned with pressing the shutter release of the camera at the right time and in the right place, but with the skill of post-processing images. He paid equal attention to the choice of image detail, the highlighting of certain picture elements, and the typography of the legends. Like a graphic artist, he paid attention to the overall visual impression. For him, the images represented a newly composed reflection of reality, not a depicted reality. In later years, he reworked his black-and-white images by overpainting and photomontage. With his work, René BURRI, along with others, perpetuated the history of man with which Edward STEICHEN sought to promote understanding between people in his 1955 traveling exhibition 'The Family of Man' after the experiences of war. In 2014, René BURRI died in Zurich.

Photo books (a selection)

  • 'Die Deutschen' (The Germans, 1962, 1986, 1990, 1999, out of print); 'Che Guevara' (1977); 'One World. Photographs and collages 1950-1983' (1984); 'An American Dream: Photographs from the World of NASA and the Pentagon' (1986); 'Gauchos' (1994); 'Cuba y Cuba' (1995); '77 Strange Sensations' (1998, out of print); 'Berner Blitz' (2003, out of print); 'Fotografien, out of print' (2005, 2007); 'Nous Sommes Treize a Table' (2008, out of print); 'Blackout New York: November 9, 1965' (2009, out of print); 'Brasilia' (2011); 'Impossible Reminiscences' (2013); 'Mouvement' (2015, 2016); 'Explosions of Sight' (2020)

read more


In out-of-print photo book 'Die Deutschen', René BURRI mainly depicts everyday life in Germany, where the bullet holes from the war can still be seen on the wall of the building. Hepursued his project for many decades. In 1986 and 1999, it was republished
0,00 € * Weight 1.5 kg
The volume 'Berner Blitz' by René BURRI is the first to focus on his photographs in color, in which he processed diverse motifs such as nature, religion, industry, politics and architecture. The photographic book was printed on polypropylene 'paper'.
30,00 € * Weight 0.7 kg
'Mouvement' about René BURRI gives an overview about his work which has written history. Removed from sensationalism yet no less striking are his images of the theater of war, of people suffering in poverty & with equal intensity to the spheres of beauty.
75,00 € * Weight 2.7 kg
The out-of-print 'Zeitblende' was published on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the famous photo agency Magnum. The picture & text book provides an overview of the impressive field of reportage photography that is commensurate with its significance
0,00 € * Weight 2.4 kg
In over 400 duotone images, out-of-print book 'Fotografien' on the work by Swiss René BURRI - edited & compiled by Hans-Michael Koetzle - shows his unique relationship to the major political events, key politicians, artists & cultural figures of his time.
0,00 € * Weight 2.8 kg
SIGNED! 'Reden wir über Fotografie" (Let's talk about photography) is a collection of essays and interviews by photo historian Hans-Michael Koetzle. He accompanies us on amazing paths through the history & present of photography, an alway in flux medium.
29,80 € * Weight 0.4 kg
The out-of-print 'Impossible Reminiscences' shows the world through the eyes of René BURRI and demonstrates how he filtered the world around him through his camera lens. He talks openly about the inspirations, motivations and events surrounding each photo
0,00 € * Weight 2 kg
The catalog 'Explosion des Sehens' (Explosion of Sight) provides an insight into the work of Magnum member René Burri. It contains previously unpublished material and documents the diversity of his work - book & exhibition design, collages & watercolors.
19,95 € * Weight 0.9 kg
This out-of-print photographic volume, 'Blackout New York' by René BURRI, is a meditation on light and its absence, a reflection on seeing - and thus on photography itself. It tells the story of how people lose something they take for granted: light.
298,00 € * Weight 0.9 kg
Exhibitions
  • 1966: 'China', Gallery Form, Zurich
    1967: 'Rene Burri Retrospective', Art Institute, Chicago

    1971: '50 Photographs', Galerie Rencontre, Paris
    1972: 'René Burri Retrospective', Raffi Photo Gallery, New York; Il Diaframma, Milan
    1980/1981: 'The Germans', Folkwang Museum, Essen; Gallery Rudolf Kicken, Cologne; Nagel Gallery, Berlin
    1984/1985: 'One World', Kunsthaus Zurich, Zurich; Bern Photo Gallery, Bern; Center National de la Photographie et Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Musée des arts décoratifs, Lausanne (1985–1995 also in New Delhi, Havana, New York, Bratislava and Ostrava)
    1987: 'Dans la familiarité de Corbu', Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne. 'An American Dream', International Center of Photography (ICP), New York
    1994: 'Dialogue avec Le Corbusier', Museo de arte moderno de Medellàn, Medellàn (1995 also in Curitiba, São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilia and Lima)
    1995: 'Le Paris de René Burri', Center Culturel Suisse, Paris; 1997: Che, Fnac Forum, Paris; Galerie R. Mangisch, Zurich (until 2001 also in Barcelona, Lille and Lisbon) 1998: '77 Strange Sensations', Villa Tobler, Zurich; 'Die Deutschen', Fotografie Forum International, Frankfurt am Main (until 2003 also in Kaufbeuren, Velbert, Toulouse and in Burghausen) 2002: 'Berner Blitz,' Galerie Karrer, Zurich 2004: 'René Burri – Retrospective 1950-2000', Maison Européenne de la Photographie (MEP), Paris; Musee de l'Elysee, Paris
    2005: 'Utopia – Architecture et Architecte', Hermès Gallery, New York; Leica Gallery, Prague; 'Photos de Jean Tinguely & Cie', Musée Tinguely, Basel; 'Utopia – Architecture et Architecte', exhibition space Klingental, Basel
    2010: 'Vintage Prints', Le Corbusier Museum Bellerive, Zurich; 'I tedeschi. La Germania degli anni Sessanta in a photograph by René Burri', Galleria Sagittaria, Centro Iniziative Culturali Pordeone; 'Photographs', Kunst Haus Wien
    2011: 'Two Worlds', Burgerstocker Gallery, Zurich
    2012: 'Burri in motion – 50 years of cinema', Burgerstocker Gallery, Zurich
    2013: 'Double Life', Museum of Design, Zurich; 2014: OstLicht, Vienna
    2020: 'Explosion of Vision', Musée de l'Elysée, Lausanne

Über den Schweizer Magnum-Fotografen René BURRI (1933-2014)

René BURRI studierte bereits in jungen Jahren Komposition, Farbe und Design an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Zürich. Während seines Militärdienstes benutzte er erstmals eine Leica-Kamera. Kurz darauf entwickelte er auch ein Interesse am Film und arbeitete von 1953-55 als Dokumentarfilmer. Sein Leben änderte sich für immer, als der bekannte Fotograf Werner BISCHOF ihn mit der renommierten Fotoagentur Magnum Photos bekannt machte. Kurz nach seinem Eintritt bei MAGNUM erschien seine erste Reportage in der Zeitschrift Life. Es ging ihm nicht nur darum, zur richtigen Zeit und am richtigen Ort auf den Auslöser der Kamera zu drücken, sondern auch um die Kunst der Nachbearbeitung. Der Wahl des Bildausschnitts, der Hervorhebung bestimmter Bildelemente und der Typografie der Legenden widmete er die gleiche Aufmerksamkeit. Wie ein Grafiker achtete er auf den visuellen Gesamteindruck. Für ihn stellten die Bilder ein neu komponiertes Abbild der Wirklichkeit dar, nicht eine abgebildete Realität. In seinen Reportagen griff er oft auf frühere Arbeiten zurück und stellte sie in einen aktuellen Kontext. In späteren Jahren überarbeitete er seine Schwarz-Weiß-Bilder durch Übermalung und Fotomontage. Mit seinem Werk hat er zusammen mit anderen die Geschichte des Menschen fortgeschrieben, mit der Edward STEICHEN 1955 in seiner Wanderausstellung 'The Family of Man' nach den Kriegserlebnissen die Verständigung zwischen den Menschen zu fördern suchte: René BURRI verstarb 2014 in Zürich.

Fotobücher von und mit Arbeiten von René BURRI (eine Auswahl)

  • 'Die Deutschen' (1962, 1986, 1990, 1999); 'Che Guevara' (1977); 'Eine Welt. Fotografien und Collagen 1950-1983' (1984); 'Ein amerikanischer Traum: Fotografien aus der Welt der NASA und des Pentagons' (1986); 'Gauchos' (1994); 'Cuba y Cuba' (1995); '77 Stranger Sensations' (1998); 'Berner Blitz' (2003); 'Fotografien' (2005, 2007); 'Nous Sommes Treize a Table" (2008); 'Blackout New York. 1965' (2009); 'Brasilia' (2011); 'Impossible Reminiscences' (2013); 'Mouvement' (2015, 2016); 'Explosionen des Sehens' (2020)

mehr lesen


Im vergriffenen Band 'Die Deutschen' bildet René BURRI jenen Alltag in Deutschland ab, wo die Einschusslöcher aus dem Krieg noch an der Hauswand zu sehen sind. Er verfolgte sein Projekt über viele Jahrzehnte. 1986 sowie 1999 wurde das Buch neu aufgelegt.
0,00 € * Gewicht 1.5 kg
Der Band 'Berner Blitz' von René BURRI ist erstmals auf seine Fotografien in Farbe fokussiert, in denen er vielfältige Motive verarbeitete wie Natur, Religion, Industrie, Politik und Architektur. Das Fotobuch wurde auf Polypropylen-'Papier' gedruckt.
30,00 € * Gewicht 0.7 kg
The book 'Mouvement' zum Werk von René BURRI gibt einen Überblick über ein Werk, das Geschichte geschrieben hat. Ohne Sensationslust und genauso eindrucksvoll sind seine Bilder von Kriegsgebieten, von Armut-leidende Menschen, und von Sphären der Schönheit
75,00 € * Gewicht 2.7 kg
'Zeitblende. Fünf Jahrzehnte MAGNUM-Photographie' erschien anlässlich des 50-jährigen Bestehens der berühmten Fotoagentur Der voluminöse Bild- & Textband gibt einen der Bedeutung angemessenen Überblick über das beeindruckende Feld der Reportagefotografie.
0,00 € * Gewicht 2.4 kg
Der vergriffene Band 'Fotografien' über René BURRI - herausgegeben & zusammengestellt von Hans-Michael Koetzle - zeigt sein einzigartiges Verhältnis zu den großen politischen Ereignissen, wichtigen Politikern und den Kunst- & Kulturschaffenden seiner Zeit
0,00 € * Gewicht 2.8 kg
SIGNIERT! 'Reden wir über Fotografie' versammelt erstmals die Essays und Interviews des Fotohistorikers Hans-Michael Koetzle. Er begleitet uns auf erstaunlichen Wegen durch Geschichte und Gegenwart der Fotografie, einem stets im Wandel begriffenen Medium.
29,80 € * Gewicht 0.4 kg
Der vergriffene Fotoband 'Impossible Reminscences' zeigt die Welt durch die Augen von René BURRI und wie er die Welt um sich herum durch sein Kameraobjektiv filterte. Dazu spricht er offen über Inspirationen, Motivationen und Ereignisse rund um jedes Foto
0,00 € * Gewicht 2 kg
Der Band 'Explosion des Sehens' gibt Einblick in das Werk des Magnum-Fotografen René BURRI. Er enthält zudem bisher unveröffentlichtes Material und dokumentiert zudem die Vielfalt, wenn auch Entwürfe, Reisetagebücher, Collagen und Aquarelle gezeigt werden
19,95 € * Gewicht 0.9 kg
'Blackout New York' von René BURRI ist quasi eine Meditation über das Licht bzw. dessen Abwesenheit, eine Reflexion über das Sehen - und damit über die Fotografie selbst. Erzählt wird, wie den Menschen etwas Selbstverständliches abhanden kommt: das Licht.
298,00 € * Gewicht 0.9 kg
Der vergriffene Band '77 Strange Sensations' von René BURRI präsentiert eine subjektive Auswahl von Arbeiten als Hommage an den 65. Geburtstag - jedes Foto fängt mindestens eine 'strange sensation' ein. Es ist der Auftakt zur Wiederentdeckung seines Werks
148,00 € * Gewicht 0.5 kg
Ausstellungen
  • 1966: 'China', Galerie Form, Zürich
    1967: 'René Burri Retrospective', Art Institute, Chicago
    1971: '50 Photographies', Galerie Rencontre, Paris
    1972: 'René Burri Retrospective', Raffi Photo Gallery, New York; Il Diaframma, Mailand
    1980/1981: 'Die Deutschen', Folkwang Museum, Essen; Galerie Rudolf Kicken, Köln; Galerie Nagel, Berlin
    1984/1985: 'One World', Kunsthaus Zürich, Zürich; Berner Photo-Galerie, Bern; Centre National de la Photographie et Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Musée des arts décoratifs, Lausanne (1985–1995 auch in Neu-Delhi, Havanna, New York, Bratislava und Ostrava)
    1987: 'Dans la familiarité de Corbu', Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne. 'An American Dream', International Center of Photography (ICP), New York
    1994: 'Dialogue avec Le Corbusier', Museo de arte moderno de Medellàn, Medellàn (1995 auch in Curitiba, São Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Brasilia und Lima)
    1995: 'Le Paris de René Burri', Centre Culturel Suisse, Paris; 1997: Che, Fnac-Forum, Paris; Galerie R. Mangisch, Zürich (bis 2001 auch in Barcelona, Lille, Lissabon)
    1998: '77 Strange Sensations', Villa Tobler, Zürich; 'Die Deutschen', Fotografie Forum International, Frankfurt/M. (bis 2003: Kaufbeuren, Velbert, Toulouse, Burghausen)
    2002: 'Berner Blitz,' Galerie Karrer, Zürich
    2004: 'René Burri – Rétrospective 1950–2000', Maison Européenne de la Photographie (MEP), Paris; Musée de l’Elysée, Paris.
    2005: 'Utopia – Architecture et Architecte', Hermès Gallery, New York; Leica Gallery, Prag
    2005: 'Photos de Jean Tinguely & Cie', Musée Tinguely, Basel; 'Utopia – Architecture et Architecte', Ausstellungsraum Klingental, Basel
    2010: 'Vintage Prints', Le Corbusier Museum Bellerive, Zürich
    2010: 'I tedeschi. La Germania degli anni Sessanta nelle fotografie di René Burri', Galleria Sagittaria, Centro Iniziative Culturali Pordeone; 'Fotografien', Kunst Haus Wien
    2011: 'Two Worlds', Galerie Burgerstocker, Zürich
    2012: 'Burri in motion – 50 Jahre Cinéma', Galerie Burgerstocker, Zürich
    2013: 'Doppelleben', Museum für Gestaltung, Zürich; 2014: OstLicht, Wien
    2020: 'Explosion des Sehens', Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne