New York School of Photography

The New York School of Photography was an amalgamation of 'a loosely defined group of photographers who lived and worked in New York City in the 1930s, 1940s and 1950s'. Jane Livingston, author of 'The New York School: Photographs 1936–1963' (1992) sees the motifs for the Union in the conviction that photography in particular could be used to understand the conditions of the working class through a multitude of pictures and exhibition spaces To improve background information on watching movies and immigration from or staying in Europe. The New York School of Photography shared a number of influences, aesthetic assumptions, themes, and stylistic features, according to Livingston. Her work was shaped by humanism, a persistent style, photojournalistic techniques, the influence of 'film noir' and the photographers Lewis HINE, Walker EVANS and Henri CARTIER-BRESSON. The 'Photo League' was considered to be the predecessor, hence the personnel overlaps.

Key Photographers

Livingston selects as key exponents of the New York school of photography 

Diane ARBUS, Richard AVEDON, Alexey BRODOVITCH, Ted CRONER, Bruce DAVIDSON, Don DONAGHY, Louis FAURER, Robert FRANK, Sid GROSSMAN, William KLEIN, Saul LEITER, Leon LEVISTEIN, Helen LEVITT, Lisette MODEL, David VESTAL, and WEEGEE.

Other photographers said to be associated with the New York school are Ian CONNER, Morris ENGEL, Harold FEINSTEIN, Ernst HAAS, Arthur LEIPZIG, Ruth ORKIN, Walter ROSENBLUM, Louis STETTNER, Garry WINOGRAND, and Max YAVNO.

Photo books by New York School of Photography Exponents

  • ARBUS, Diane
    AVEDON, Richard
    BRODOVITCH, Alexey
    CONNER, Ian
    CRONER, Ted
    DAVIDSON, Bruce
    DONAGHY, Don
    ENGEL, Morris
    FAURER, Louis
    FEINSTEIN, Harold
    FRANK, Robert
    GROSSMAN, Sid
    HAAS, Ernst
    KLEIN, William
    LEIPZIG, Arthur
    LEITER, Saul
    LEVINSTEIN, Leon
    LEVITT, Helen
    MODEL, Lisette
    ORKIN, Ruth
    ROSENBLUM, Walter
    STETTNER, Louis
    VESTAL, David
    WEEGEE
    WINOGRAND, Garry
    YAVNO, Max

'Die Amerikaner' is the German edition of this work that looked at the Americans from a new perspective and which revolutionized the aesthetics of the photo book. It was first published in 2008, on the occasion of the anniversary of the French original.
from 120,00 €
HC with dust jacket, 18,5 x 24 x 2,5 cm. (9,5 x 7 in.), 142 pp, 120 b/w duotone ills., English
29,95 € *
This photo volume set 'Seven Stories' by Robert FRANK is a collection of small volumes that represents a new stage in his practice. As always, his photographs and stories relate to life and milieu: houses in Mabou and New York or trips to China and Spain.
298,00 € *
'In Color' by Bruce DAVIDSON presents his personal selection from his lesser-known color archive. These images date back 56 years and represent the photographer's color career from various fields such as magazines & commercial projects as well as fashion.
78,00 € *
DVD (PAL), 82 min., 16:9, English with German subtitles
17,80 € *
re-edit, HC with dust jacket, as issued, 21 x 27 x 2 cm., 168 pp., highly illustrated, text language: English
40,00 € *
2nd printrun, slipcased set of 2 linen bound HCs, each with dust jacket, 20 x 20 x 2 cm., 388 pp., b/w ills., text language: English
0,00 € *
'Contacts' is a collection of William KLEIN’s famous contact sheets. The most important works of this great artist have been chosen and printed from these contact sheets, which can be either detached and framed or kept in their original form in the book.
29,80 € *
HC with dust jacket, 25 x 20 x 1 cm., 48 pp., b/w ills., text language: English
30,00 € *

New York School of Photography

Die New York School of Photography war ein Zusammenschluss 'einer lose definierten Gruppe von Fotograf:innen, die in den 1930er, 1940er und 1950er Jahren in New York City lebten und arbeiteten'. Jane Livingston, Autorin von 'The New York School: Photographs 1936–1963' (1992) sieht die Motive für die Union in der Überzeugung, dass besonders die Fotografie genutzt werden könnte, um die Bedingungen der Arbeiterklasse, durch eine Vielzahl von Bildern, Ausstellungsräumen, Hintergrundinformationen zum Ansehen von Filmen und die Einwanderung aus oder den Aufenthalt in Europa zu verbessern. Die New York School of Photography teilte nach Livingston eine Reihe von Einflüssen, ästhetischen Annahmen, Themen und stilistischen Merkmalen. Ihre Arbeit war von Humanismus, einem hartnäckigen Stil, fotojournalistischen Techniken, dem Einfluss des 'Film Noir' und den Fotografen Lewis HINE, Walker EVANS und Henri CARTIER-BRESSON geprägt. Als Vorgänger galt die 'Photo League', daher die personellen Überschneidungen.

Schlüsselfotograf:innen

Jane Livingston benannte diese Fotograf:innen als Schlüsselfiguren der New York School of Photography 

Diane ARBUS, Richard AVEDON, Alexey BRODOVITCH, Ted CRONER, Bruce DAVIDSON, Don DONAGHY, Louis FAURER, Robert FRANK, Sid GROSSMAN, William KLEIN, Saul LEITER, Leon LEVISTEIN, Helen LEVITT, Lisette MODEL, David VESTAL, and WEEGEE.

Other photographers said to be associated with the New York school are Ian CONNER, Morris ENGEL, Harold FEINSTEIN, Ernst HAAS, Arthur LEIPZIG, Ruth ORKIN, Walter ROSENBLUM, Louis STETTNER, Garry WINOGRAND, and Max YAVNO.

Photo books by New York School of Photography Exponents

  • ARBUS, Diane
    AVEDON, Richard
    BRODOVITCH, Alexey
    CONNER, Ian
    CRONER, Ted
    DAVIDSON, Bruce
    DONAGHY, Don
    ENGEL, Morris
    FAURER, Louis
    FEINSTEIN, Harold
    FRANK, Robert
    GROSSMAN, Sid
    HAAS, Ernst
    KLEIN, William
    LEIPZIG, Arthur
    LEITER, Saul
    LEVINSTEIN, Leon
    LEVITT, Helen
    MODEL, Lisette
    ORKIN, Ruth
    ROSENBLUM, Walter
    STETTNER, Louis
    VESTAL, David
    WEEGEE
    WINOGRAND, Garry
    YAVNO, Max


'Die Amerikaner' ist die deutsche Ausgabe dieses Werks, das die Amerikaner aus einer neuen Perspektive zeigte und zuem die Ästhetik des Fotobuchs revolutionierte. Sie wurde erstmals 2008 anlässlich des Jubiläums des französischen Originals veröffentlicht.
ab 120,00 €
HC with dust jacket, 18,5 x 24 x 2,5 cm. (9,5 x 7 in.), 142 pp, 120 b/w duotone ills., English
29,95 € *
'Seven Stories' von Robert FRANK ist eine Sammlung kleiner Bände, die eine neue Etappe in seiner Praxis darstellt. Wie immer beziehen sich seine Fotos und Geschichten auf Leben und Milieu: Häuser in Mabou und New York oder Reisen nach China und Spanien.
298,00 € *
Der Band 'In Color' von Bruce DAVIDSON präsentiert dessen persönliche Auswahl aus seinem weniger bekannten Farbarchiv. Diese Bilder stehen für die Farbkarriere des Fotografen aus verschiedenen Bereichen wie Magazinen und kommerziellen Projekten sowie Mode
78,00 € *
DVD (PAL), 82 min., 16:9, English with German subtitles
17,80 € *
re-edit, HC with dust jacket, as issued, 21 x 27 x 2 cm., 168 pp., highly illustrated, text language: English
40,00 € *
2nd printrun, slipcased set of 2 linen bound HCs, each with dust jacket, 20 x 20 x 2 cm., 388 pp., b/w ills., text language: English
0,00 € *
'Contacts' ist eine Sammlung der berühmten Kontaktbögen von William KLEIN.. Dafür wurden die wichtigsten und bekanntesten Werke ausgewählt, die wahlweise entweder herausgelöst und gerahmt oder in ihrer ursprünglichen Form im Buch aufbewahrt werden können.
29,80 € *
Der zweite Fotoband von Robert FRANK, 'Peru', erschien rund 10 Jahre vor seinem Klassiker 'The Americans'.
30,00 € *