About the photographer, Christian KASNERS (b.1983, in Bottrop, Ruhr Area)

Christian KASNERS studied photography at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen, at the Rochester Institute of Technology (NY, USA) and at the Academy of Visual Arts (HGB) in Leipzig. He completed artist* residencies in Detroit and Hamtramck (MI, USA) and received one of the Wüstenrot Foundation's documentary photography sponsorship awards in 2017. His work has been shown in Germany, the USA, the Czech Republic, and China, and is in the collection of the Museum Folkwang in Essen, Germany, among others. During his studies he was a scholarship holder of the Cusanuswerk. Christian KASNERS lives and works in Leipzig.

Artist and photo books, exhibition catalogs

'Gladbeck Essen' (2012); 'f/stop. The History of Now' (2012); 'What is not but could be if' (2013); 'Pixelprojekt Ruhrgebiet Neuaufnahmen 2012/2013' (2013); '19 Positionen. 11. Absolventenausstellung der Künstlerförderung des Cusanuswerks' (2017); 'Wege zur Metropole Ruhr. Heimat im Wandel' (2017); 'Die Grosse 2017' (2017); 'Neue Graeue' (2017); 'Nová Evropa' (2020); 'Dokumentarfotografie Förderpreise 12' (2020); 'Woodward' (2022)


The self-published volume 'Woodward' by Christian KASNERS deals with one of the five major avenues in Detroit. Through the sequence of images, the changing social and economic conditions of the largest U.S. city on the US-Canada border, are conveyed.
48,00 € Weight 0.9 kg

Über den Fotografen, Christian KASNERS (*1983 in Bottrop)

Christian KASNERS hat Fotografie an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen, am Rochester Institute of Technology (NY, USA) sowie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst (HGB) in Leipzig studiert. Er absolvierte Künstler*innen-Residenzen in Detroit und Hamtramck (MI, USA) und erhielt 2017 einen der Dokumentarfotografie-Förderpreise der Wüstenrot Stiftung. Seine Arbeit wurde in Deutschland, den USA, Tschechien und China gezeigt und ist u. a. in der Sammlung des Museum Folkwang in Essen. Während des Studiums war er Stipendiat des Cusanuswerks. Christian KASNERS lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig.

Künstler- und Fotobücher, Ausstellungskataloge

'Gladbeck Essen' (2012); 'f/stop. The History of Now' (2012); 'What is not but could be if' (2013); 'Pixelprojekt Ruhrgebiet Neuaufnahmen 2012/2013' (2013); '19 Positionen. 11. Absolventenausstellung der Künstlerförderung des Cusanuswerks' (2017); 'Wege zur Metropole Ruhr. Heimat im Wandel' (2017); 'Die Grosse 2017' (2017); 'Neue Graeue' (2017); 'Nová Evropa' (2020); 'Dokumentarfotografie Förderpreise 12' (2020); 'Woodward' (2022)


Der selbst verlegte, spiralgebundene Fotoband 'Woodward' von Christian KASNERS handelt von einer der fünf großen Avenues in Detroit. Durch die Bilderfolge werden die sich verändernden sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse dieser Stadt vermittelt.
48,00 € Gewicht 0.9 kg