About the Finnish photographer, Elina BROTHERUS (b.1972 in Helsinki)

Elina Anneli BROTHERUS is a photographer and video artist. Her work focuses on self-portraits and landscape photography. After her MSc Degree in Chemistry she studied at the University of Art and Design Helsinki from 2000. Since 1997 she has exhibited in Europe, Asia and America and received various awards, including the Fotofinlandia Award (2000), the Citibank Photography Prize (2002) and the Nicéphore Niépce Prize (2005).  Elina BROTHERUS lives and works in France and Finland.

Photo books by as well as about the work of Elina BROTHERUS

'Why Not?' (2020); 'Fucking Carpe Diem' (2015); 'Artist and her Model' (2012); 'The New Painting' (2005); 'Decisive Days' (2003)


In 'Conversations', Rémi Coignet explores in interviews the question of what role the photo book plays in the work of photographers, designers & publishers and how their titles are conceived. Two more volumes with interviews have been published until now.
from 29,50 € Weight 0.3 kg
The autobiographical documentation 'Fucking Carpe Diem' by Finnish photographer Elina BROTHERUS deals with the highly taboo topic of unwanted childlessness. Intelligently designed, the volume takes the viewer on an emotional journey into the human soul.
49,90 € *
Diary-like series, landscape shots and situational mood images. The catalog volume 'Why Not?' with further essays follows the latest development of the Finnish photographer Elina BROTHERUS. The book constantly explores the possibilities of photography.
29,90 € * Weight 1 kg
Elina BROTHRUS found points of departure for the book 'Seabound' in the collection of Sørlandets Kunstmuseum. Some works are based on 19th century Romantic paintings, others on performative scores, for example by Yoko Ono, Valle Export or John Baldessari.
58,00 € *
'It's a strange feeling to look back at the young person I used to be. What happened? What has changed? The apartments. The face has grown older. What else?' - At least not the style in Elina BROTHERUS' self-portraits, that has remained pretty constant.
68,00 € * Weight 1.3 kg
A real must-have for those interested in photo books. In more than 70 interviews, specialist author Rémi Coignet investigates the role of the photo book in the work of photographers, designers and publishers and how their photo books are designed.
from 75,00 €

Über die finnische Fotografin, Elina BROTHERUS (*1972 in Helsinki)

Elina Anneli BROTHERUS ist Fotografin und Videokünstlerin. Schwerpunkt ihres Werkes sind Selbstporträts und Landschaftsaufnahmen. Nach ihrem MSc Degree in Chemie studierte sie ab 2000 an der University of Art and Design Helsinki. Seit 1997 hat sie bereits in Europa, Asien und Amerika ausgestellt und diverse Auszeichungen erhalten, darunter den Fotofinlandia Award (2000), den Citibank Photography Prize (2002) sowie den Nicéphore-Niépce-Preis (2005). Elina BROTHERUS lebt und arbeitet in Frankreich und Finnland.

Fotobücher von sowie über das Werk von Elina BROTHERUS

'Why Not?' (2020); 'Fucking Carpe Diem' (2015); 'Artist and her Model' (2012); 'The New Painting' (2005); 'Decisive Days' (2003)


In 'Conversations' untersucht Rémi Coignet in Interviews die Frage, welche Rolle das Fotobuch in der Arbeit von Fotografen, Designern und Verlegern spielt und wie ihre Titel konzipiert sind. Bisher wurden zwei weitere Bände mit Interviews veröffentlicht.
ab 29,50 € Gewicht 0.3 kg
Die autobiografische Dokumentation 'Fucking Carpe Diem' von Elina BROTHERUS behandelt das stark tabuisierte Thema der ungewollten Kinderlosigkeit. Intelligent gestaltet, nimmt der Band den Betrachter mit auf eine emotionale Reise in die menschliche Seele.
49,90 € *
Tagebuchartige Serien, Landschaftsaufnahmen und situative Stimmungsbilder. Der Katalogband 'Warum nicht?' verfolgt die neueste Entwicklung der finnischen Fotografin Elina BROTHERUS. Der Band mit vielen Essays erforscht die Möglichkeiten der Fotografie.
29,90 € * Gewicht 1 kg
Anknüpfungspunkte für den Band 'Seabound' fand Elina BROTHERUS in der Sammlung des Sørlandets Kunstmuseums. Einige Fotos basieren auf Gemälden der Romantik des 19. Jhts., andere auf performativen Partituren von Yoko Ono, Valle Export oder John Baldessari.
58,00 € *
'Ein seltsames Gefühl, auf den jungen Menschen zurückzublicken, der ich einst gewesen bin. Was ist passiert? Was hat sich geändert? Die Wohnungen, die Freunde. Und was noch?' - Nicht der Stil in Elina BROTHERUS' Selbstporträts, der ist konstant geblieben.
68,00 € * Gewicht 1.3 kg
Ein wirkliches Must-Have für Fotobuch-Interessierte. In über 70 Interviews geht der Fachautor Rémi Coignet der Frage nach, welche Rolle das Fotobuch in der Arbeit von Fotograf*Innen, Designern & Verlegern spielt und wie deren Fotobücher konzipiert sind.
ab 75,00 €