Background information

The festival 'Les Rencontres D'Arles' takes place annually in the south of France. Besides the extensive exhibition program, it is also a marketplace for photobooks: bookstalls, rented rooms in homes, former stores become bookstores & galleries. 2021 is a bit different because of COVID-19: the annual marketplace COSMOS is cancelled. Nevertheless, Cafe Lehmitz Photobooks is on site to show that artists and publishers produce great photo books that deserve attention even in these times.

Content

In this category, 'Arles 2021' I list photo volumes related to this year's Les Rencontres: Books that were shortlisted as well as the winners of the Arles Photobook Awards 2021 in the categories 'Author Book Award', 'Historical Book Award' & 'Photo-Text Book Award'. Also listed here are freshly published photobooks that I am showing for the first time on my table at the Foundation Manuel-Rivera Ortiz.


In 1963, Ed RUSCHA photographed filling stations from Oklahoma to LA. He published them in 'Twentysix Gasoline Stations'. He took 60 photographs which he edited to 26. 7 unpublished images from New Mexico are reproduced here, from the original negatives.
75,00 € * Weight 0.7 kg
In January 2020, Alec SOTH received a letter from a prison inmate asking the photographer for a dialogue. 'The Parameters of our Cage' contains the following correspondence in times of COVID-19 pandemic, 'Black Lives Matter' movement and civil unrest.
0,00 € *
'Galerna' is part of a long-term project in which Basque photographer Jon CAZENAVE questions his identity & territorial belonging. He makes a personal cut and frees himself from his insatiable thirst for black after a decade of uncompromising photography.
44,00 € Weight 1.2 kg
The photo volume '1078 Blue Skies / 4432 Days' by Anton KUSTERS contains limited edition Polaroid photos of the abstract blue skies above European concentration camps of the German Nazi regime. It is the result of a long-term project lasting six years.
from 80,00 € Weight 2 kg
Rinko KAWAUCHI's volume in the 'Des Oiseux' series focuses - like the text by ornithologist Guilhem Lesaffre - on the way of life of swallows, their history, their south-north migration, the season of birth, and their special relationship with humans.
38,00 €
German-Dutch photographer Germaine KRULL is one of the discoverers of modernity. For a long time, her works were hardly accessible because they were scattered in individual archives. The out-of-print catalog with over 150 vintage prints closes this gap.
from 28,00 € Weight 1.4 kg
English edition. The catalog for Michael SCHMIDT retrospective, taking place in Berlin, includes well-known and rarely seen works as well as the very informative texts by well-known authors can already be considered a reference work about Michael SCHMIDT.
60,00 €
In the photo volume 'India', Belgian Magnum photographer Harry GRUYAERT lets us share his diverse experiences that he has made over the years with the mysteries of this country. He paints a picture rich in contrasts that is the opposite of exoticism.
54,00 € Weight 1.6 kg
In 'Ciprian Honey Cathedral' Raymond MEEKS carefully examines the legibility of our material surroundings and the people who are closest to us. He is known for using photography to poetically distill the boundaries of sight, awareness, and understanding.
50,00 € *

Hintergrundinformation

Das Festival 'Les Rencontres D'Arles' findet jährlich im Süden Frankreichs statt. Neben dem umfangreichen Ausstellungsprogramm ist es auch ein Marktplatz für Fotobücher: Buchstände, angemietete Räume in Wohnhäusern, ehemaligen Geschäften werden zu Buchläden & Galerien. 2021 ist wegen COVID-19 etwas anders: der jährlich stattfindende Marktplatz COSMOS fällt aus. Dennoch ist Cafe Lehmitz Photobooks vor Ort, um zu zeigen, dass Künstler und Verlage auch in diesen Zeiten tolle Fotobände hervorbringen, die Aufmerksamkeit verdienen.

Inhalt

In dieser Kategorie, 'Arles 2021' liste ich Fotopublikationen auf, die im Zusammenhang mit diesjährigen Les Rencontres stehen: Bücher die auf der Shortlist gestanden haben, sowie die Gewinner des Arles Photobook Awards 2021 in den Kategorien 'Author Book Award', 'Historical Book Award' & 'Photo-Text Book Award'. Außerdem sind hier frisch erschienen Fotobücher gelistet, die erstmaig ich auf meinem Tisch in der Foundation Manuel-Rivera Ortiz zeige.


1963 fotografierte Ed RUSCHA Tankstellen von Oklahoma bis LA. Er veröffentlichte sie in 'Twentysix Gasoline Stations'. Er machte 60 Fotos, die er auf 26 kürzte. 7 unveröffentlichten Bilder aus New Mexico sind hier von den Originalnegativen reproduziert.
75,00 € * Gewicht 0.7 kg
2020 erhielt Alec SOTH einen Brief von einem Gefängnisinsassen, in dem er den Fotografen zu einem Dialog aufforderte. 'The Parameters of our Cage' enthält die folgende Korrespondenz in Zeiten von COVID-19-Pandemie, 'Black-Lives-Matter'-Bewegung & Unruhen.
9,00 € *
In 'Galerna' hinterfragt der baskische Fotograf Jon CAZENAVE seine Identität sowie territoriale Zugehörigkeit und macht einen persönlichen Schnitt: er befreit sich nach einem Jahrzehnt kompromissloser Fotografie von seinem unstillbaren Durst nach Schwarz.
44,00 € Gewicht 1.2 kg
'1078 Blue Skies / 4432 Days' des belgischen Fotografen Anton KUSTERS enthält Polaroid-Fotos des abstrakten, blauen Himmels über europäischen Konzentrationslagern des deutschen Nazi-Regimes. Er ist das Ergebnis eines sechs Jahre währenden Langzeitprojekts
ab 80,00 €
Rinko KAWAUCHIs Band der 'Des Oiseux'-Reihe konzentriert sich - wie der Text des Ornitologen G. Lesaffre - auf die Lebensweise von Schwalben, ihre Geschichte, ihre Süd-Nord-Wanderung, die Jahreszeit der Geburt sowie ihre besondere Beziehung zum Menschen.
38,00 €
Englische Ausgabe. Der Katalog zur Berliner Michael SCHMIDT-Retrospektive enthält sowohl bekannte als auch selten zu sehende Fotografien sowie die sehr informativen Texte bekannter Autoren und kann jetz schon als Nachschlagewerk zu Michael SCHMIDT gelten.
60,00 € *
Was trennt uns und was verbindet uns? Wie leben Menschen jeglicher Couleur mit den Schatten kultureller Unterdrückung oder politischer Dominanz? Der Fotograf Pieter HUGO untersucht diese Fragen in seinen Porträts, den Stillleben sowie Landschaftsbildern.
19,95 € *
In 'Ciprian Honey Cathedral' untersucht Raymond MEEKS die Lesbarkeit unserer Umgebung und der Menschen, die uns am nächsten stehen. Er ist dafür bekannt, Fotografie zu verwenden, um die Grenzen von Sehen, Bewusstsein und Verstehen poetisch auszuloten.
50,00 € *
Anknüpfungspunkte für den Band 'Seabound' fand Elina BROTHERUS in der Sammlung des Sørlandets Kunstmuseums. Einige Fotos basieren auf Gemälden der Romantik des 19. Jhts., andere auf performativen Partituren von Yoko Ono, Valle Export oder John Baldessari.
58,00 € *
Shortlist Author Book Award 2021. Mit dem Fotoband 'Family Stranger' zeigt die niederländische Fotografin Wiosna van BON, wie unterschiedlich Familien, deren Angehörige wegen eines begangenen Verbrechens ins Gefängnis mussten, mit der Situation umgehen.
40,00 € *